Monday, February 5, 2018

De La Soul – "Magic Number" (1990)

De La Soul posse 
Consists of three
And that's the magic number

The chorus of today's featured song is based on yesterday’s featured song – “Three is a Magic Number,” which was part of the very first episode of the educational TV series, Schoolhouse Rock!

De La Soul’s three members – Dave, Posdnuos, and Maseo – were born in 1968, 1969, and 1970, respectively, so I’m guessing they remember “Three Is A Magic Number” (which first aired in 1973) from their childhood.

“Magic Number” was released in 1990 on the trio’s debut album, 3 Feet High and Rising, which famed critic Robert Christgau said was “unlike any rap album you or anybody else has ever heard.”  That statement is as true today as it was in 1990.

If I were you, I’d click here and read the Genius website’s explanation of the song’s lyrics.  Otherwise, you’ll never figure out what the hell De La Soul is talking about.

Here’s “Magic Number”:

No comments:

Post a Comment